Auburn University professor awarded Fulbright Scholar grant to study in Macedonia

AUBURN – George Mitrevski, an associate professor in Auburn University’s Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to study in Macedonia.

Mitrevski, who leaves in August, received a nine-month appointment and will be conducting research on an electronic collection of Macedonian texts at the Academy of Sciences and the Arts and at the Macedonian Language Institute in the Republic of Macedonia. He will also be working at the Pedagogical Faculty in the city of Bitola where he will teach English essay-writing and American literature.

At Auburn since 1983, Mitrevski teaches courses on Russian language and culture and an introductory World Literature course through the English department. He recently developed a set of distance learning courses for Russian. He obtained his doctorate and master’s degree in Russian/Slavic from Ohio State University and received his bachelor’s degree from Stony Brook University.

Originally from Macedonia, Mitrevski was born in the village of Podmochani in the Prespa region. “My family emigrated from there in 1966 when I was 15 and I’ve traveled there quite often,” he said.

In 1997, Mitrevski was awarded a Fulbright scholar grant to study in Macedonia at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, and he was given a Fulbright-Hayes grant to conduct research in the country in 2002-03.

“It is always rewarding to work in Macedonia,” he said.

For this trip, Mitrevski said he was also contacted by the rector, or president, of a new university that is being built in the city of Ohrid to help design some of their academic programs. “What is so unique about this new school is that the language of instruction will be English and at least half of the faculty will be from other countries,” he said.

The Fulbright Scholar program is governed by the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, a 12-member board appointed by the president of the United States that is responsible for establishing worldwide policies for the program and for the selection of Fulbright recipients.

The award is given by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars in cooperation with the United States Department of State and is provided through funds that are appropriated annually by the U.S. Congress, and in many cases, by contributions from partner countries and the private sector.

The mission of Fulbright recipients is to increase the mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of the more than 150 countries that currently participate in the Fulbright program.

(Contributed by Vicky Santos and Katie Wilder.)

Contact: Katie Wilder, (334) 844-9999 (, or
Mike Clardy, (334) 844-9999 (