Auburn to honor five veteran journalists in early spring award ceremony

AUBURN – Veteran CBS News reporter Jim Stewart is one of five journalists chosen to receive 2011 Auburn Journalism Awards at The Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center on Friday, April 22, at 11:30 a.m. The other honorees are Dewey English, managing editor of The Mobile Press-Register; Carol Pappas, former editor and publisher of The Talladega Daily Home and St. Clair Times; Jon Johnson, sports editor of The Dothan Eagle; and the late Ronald B. Casey, former editorial page editor of The Birmingham News.

Stewart will receive the Distinguished Mass Media Achievement award; English, the Distinguished Auburn University Journalism Alumnus award; Pappas, the Distinguished Alabama Community Journalist award; and Johnson, the Distinguished Alabama Community Sports Journalist award. Casey will be honored posthumously with the Distinguished Special Achievement in Journalism award.

“We have honored some of the state’s best journalists since the awards were established in 2005,” said Roy Bain, journalism advisory council awards chairman. “This year’s honorees are no exception.”

Tickets for the honors luncheon and awards ceremony luncheon are $40 per person. Make checks to The Auburn University Foundation, with “2011 Journalism Awards Luncheon” in the memo line, and send to Jennifer Wood Adams, Journalism Program Director, Department of Communication and Journalism, 232 Tichenor Hall, Auburn, AL 36849. The deadline for reservations is Monday, April 4.

The Auburn University Journalism Advisory Council in the College of Liberal Arts established these awards “to recognize and celebrate the best and most enduring professionals in our field” who work inside or outside the state, but who have Alabama roots. Only the Auburn University Journalism Alumnus award requires that the recipient has an Auburn University journalism connection, and it is not restricted to those in the practice of journalism. The advisory council realizes “numerous Auburn journalism alums have succeeded admirably in a variety of fields.”

Nomination letters for the awards are accepted annually, September through October. Current and former professionals are eligible nominees. For more information about these awards, contact Jennifer Wood Adams at or Roy Bain at

Contact: Victoria Santos, (334) 844-7186 (, or
Mike Clardy, (334) 844-9999 (