AU building science program upgraded to school and named for McWhorters

AUBURN – Auburn University’s Department of Building Science, in the College of Architecture, Design and Construction, has a new name and designation and will now be known as the Earlon and Betty McWhorter School of Building Science in honor of the former Board of Trustees president pro tempore and his wife.

The McWhorters recently committed $5 million to the College of Architecture, Design and Construction and directed $3 million of the total toward endowments in what was the Department of Building Science. At the November meeting of the Board of Trustees, the board voted unanimously to recognize the quality of the program by making it a school and to pay homage to the McWhorters by renaming the program in their honor.

AU’s building science program is the second oldest construction program in the United States and is universally considered one of the top six construction education programs in the nation.

The change in designation of AU’s building science program from a department to a school brings Auburn’s program in line with its Peer Six program competitors which include the University of Florida, Virginia Tech and Arizona State, each of which has been granted “school” status.

Contact: Deedie Dowdle, (334) 844-9999 (, or
Mike Clardy, (334) 844-9999 (