Raymond Harbert Nominated For the Auburn University Board of Trustees

AUBURN – Raymond J. Harbert from Birmingham was today nominated by the Auburn University Trustee Selection Committee to fill an at-large position on the AU Board of Trustees. The nomination requires confirmation by the Alabama Senate.

Harbert would replace Earlon McWhorter from Anniston, a trustee since 2001.  McWhorter served as president pro tempore during his tenure.

Harbert is chairman and chief executive officer of Harbert Management Corp.  He graduated from AU in 1982 with a bachelor’s degree in industrial management.  Harbert serves on the board of directors of the Alabama Symphony Orchestra and Children’s Hospital of Alabama.

Members of the selection committee are AU trustees Paul Spina and Robert Lowder, alumni board members Ralph Jordan and Neil Christopher, and Gov. Bob Riley, who is president of the Board.  Jim Main served as
the governor’s representative on the selection committee.