Governor Bentley announces appointments to the Auburn Board of Trustees

AUBURN – Governor Robert Bentley thanked the nearly 200 individuals nominated for consideration for the nine positions either currently open or soon to be vacant on the Auburn University Board of Trustees.

“We’re fortunate that so many highly-qualified men and women in the Auburn family are eager to serve,” said Bentley, who is president of the university’s governing body.

A selection committee on Monday chose appointees for each of the nine positions, and their names have been forwarded to the Alabama State Senate. Nominations to the Auburn Board require Senate confirmation.

The committee made the following appointments:

District 1: B.T. Roberts
District 2: Virginia Thompson
District 3: Jimmy Rane
District 3-Lee County: Bobby Lowder
District 4: Jimmy Sanford
District 6: Elizabeth Huntley
District 7: Sarah Newton
District 9: Rev. Byron Franklin
At-Large: Charles McCrary

The selection committee was composed of the Governor, current Auburn Trustees John Blackwell and Raymond Harbert, and three members of the Auburn Alumni Association Board, Bobby Poundstone, Nancy Fortner and Howard Nelson.

Contact: Brian Keeter, (334) 844-4650 (, or
Mike Clardy, (334) 844-9999 (