Auburn University College of Business receives gift from alumni to fund scholarships

AUBURN – Auburn University alumni Mike and Jane McLain of Atlanta have pledged $100, 000, in honor of Mike’s father, to establish the Andrew Carrol McLain Endowment for Scholarships in Auburn’s College of Business.

“Jane and I are very pleased to honor my father with this endowed scholarship,” said Mike McLain. “My father has always believed in getting a good education and in working hard to achieve your goals. We are happy that we can pass this legacy on to deserving Auburn students.”

The McLains are both 1972 graduates of Auburn, with Jane receiving a degree in textile design and Mike receiving a bachelor’s degree in business administration. Mike also received an MBA from Furman University in Greenville, S.C.

Mike recently retired as president, chief executive officer, chairman and director of Aearo Technologies Inc. when it was acquired by 3M Company earlier this year. Aearo designs and manufactures eye, face, head, respiratory, hearing and fall-protection products and communication systems. Prior to joining Aearo, Mike served as president and chief executive officer of DowBrands, Inc., a large manufacturer of household consumer products. He is a board member of PlayCore, Little Rapids Corporation and Timex.

“We are grateful to Mike and Jane for such a thoughtful and generous investment in the Auburn University College of Business and our future leaders,” said college dean Paul Brobowski. “In today’s competitive environment, scholarship support plays a critical role in our ability to attract outstanding students.”

The College of Business at Auburn University is accredited at the undergraduate and graduate levels by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, the highest standard of achievement for business schools. Less than one third of U.S. business schools and only 15 percent of business schools worldwide meet the rigorous standards of AACSB International accreditation. Institutions that earn accreditation confirm their commitment to quality and continuous improvement through a rigorous and comprehensive peer review.

(Contributed by Dina Kanellos Roberts.)

Contact: Kristen Jackson, (334) 844-3224 (, or
Mike Clardy, (334) 844-9999 (