Auburn University faculty members named 2012-13 SEC Academic Leadership Fellows

AUBURN – Three Auburn University professors were part of a group of 46 faculty and administrators from Southeastern Conference universities selected Friday as 2012-13 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows.

The Auburn faculty are Brigitta Brunner, associate professor and director of the public relations program in the College of Liberal Arts; David Hinson, professor and head of the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture in the College of Architecture, Design and Construction; and Jared Russell, associate professor of kinesiology and director of student development in the College of Education.

“We commend our faculty honorees for their excellent work and for their dedication to higher education, which are traits that inspire our students,” said Timothy Boosinger, Auburn University provost and vice president for academic affairs. “We look forward to their participation with SEC colleagues in the leadership program.”

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program is a professional development program that seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. It has two components: a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants and two, three-day, SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants.

This year’s workshops will be held Oct. 15-17 at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville and Feb. 6-8 at the University of Florida in Gainesville.

“The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program is a valuable opportunity for faculty and administrators at Southeastern Conference universities to study a wide range of topics in higher education from the leader’s perspective,” said Torie Johnson, SECU executive director. “We trust that the skills, techniques and knowledge they acquire this year will help prepare them for high level service in academia.”

Using its SECU academic initiative, the SEC sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its 14 member universities. The SEC also provides an online platform to showcase achievements of these individuals on regional, national and international levels.

Contacts: Mike Clardy, Office of Communications and Marketing, (334) 844-9996, (;
or Charles Martin, Office of Communications and Marketing, (334) 844-9996, (