Alabama Senate confirms Auburn Trustees

AUBURN UNIVERSITY – The Alabama State Senate Thursday approved two new members of the Auburn University Board of Trustees.

Mike DeMaioribus, senior vice president at technology company Dynetics in Huntsville, will represent District 8, which stretches across north Alabama. Wayne Smith from Nashville was selected for an at-large position. Smith is chairman and chief executive officer of Community Health Systems, an operator of acute care hospitals in 29 states.

“Mike and Wayne bring a fresh dose of strategic thinking, enthusiasm and passion for serving Auburn,” said Raymond Harbert, president pro tem of the university’s board.

The new trustees immediately begin seven-year terms. They replace John Blackwell and Sam Ginn, who were not eligible for reappointment.

DeMaioribus and Smith were chosen from more than 100 nominees. The selection committee was composed of Harbert, trustee Jimmy Rane, Auburn Alumni Association representatives Bill Stone and Gaines Thomas, and Gov. Robert Bentley, who is president of the Auburn board.

Auburn trustees next meet on April 12.

Contact: Brian Keeter, Director of Public Affairs, (334) 844-4650 (, or
Mike Clardy, Office of Communications and Marketing, (334) 844-9999 (