Auburn chapter of American Association of University Professors honors President Jay Gogue

Auburn University President Jay Gogue received the 2014 Glenn Howze Academic Freedom Award from the Auburn chapter of the American Association of University Professors during the spring meeting of the University Faculty on March 25. Gogue is the second Auburn president to receive the award. The chapter’s first Academic Freedom Award went to President William Muse in 1994. Harbert College of Business Professor Herbert Jack Rotfeld, right, president of the Auburn AAUP chapter, cited Gogue for active and ongoing support for the faculty’s role in shared governance. The award is named for the late Glenn Howze, a leading advocate for shared governance who served as the 1998 chair of the University Senate.