Auburn Alumni Association seeking award nominations

Each year, the Auburn Alumni Association honors alumni, faculty, staff and friends with awards for outstanding achievement.

Nominations are being accepted through Friday, May 30, for the 2014-2015 Auburn Alumni Association Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Awards, the Minority Achievement Award, the Young Alumni Achievement Award and the Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards honor four recipients for outstanding achievements in their professional lives, personal integrity and stature, and service to the university. The awards were established in 2001 to honor extraordinary accomplishments by members of the Auburn Family. Recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards are selected by a committee of Auburn administrators, trustees, faculty and alumni through an individual ballot process. A completed nomination packet requires a nomination form, a maximum of three letters of recommendation and an optional CV/resume.

The 2014 Lifetime Achievement Awards recipients included 1982 graduate Tim Cook, CEO of Apple Inc.; 1972 graduate Pat Sullivan, 1971 Heisman Trophy winner and current head football coach at Samford University; 1966 graduate Larry Benefield, dean emeritus of the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering at Auburn University; and 1957 graduate John Brown, chair emeritus of Stryker Corp., one of the world’s leading medical technology companies. Other past recipients include four astronauts, five generals and names synonymous with Auburn such as George Petrie, James Foy, Katherine Cater, Shug Jordan and others.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award was established in 2011 and in 2015 will recognize one alumnus or alumna under the age of 40 who has made significant contributions in his or her professional life or community. Nominations require a completed form, a maximum of three letters of recommendation and an optional CV/resume. The Young Alumni Achievement Award recipient is chosen by the same committee that selects the Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. Past recipients include Oscar winner Octavia Spencer, Dave Clark of Amazon and author, chef and entrepreneur James Theodore Farmer III.

Since 1987, the 2014 Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Awards have recognized three teachers or professors who have exemplified exceptional quality in their teaching, knowledge of subject, interest in students and availability to them, impact on the nominator’s personal educational experience and influence within Auburn University. Professors can be nominated by students, alumni and colleagues, and the award includes a $1,000 honorarium for each of the recipients.  The nomination requires a completed nomination form, one letter of recommendation and one letter of support from the dean or department head.

The Minority Achievement Award, which was first awarded in 2000, honors one individual of any race or ethnic background whose efforts have attracted minority students to Auburn University and whose efforts have contributed to the success, retention and graduation rates of minority students at Auburn. The award honors an individual who has contributed to improved race relations and fostered a sense of community within the university. The award includes a $1,000 honorarium for the recipient. Nomination requires a completed form and a letter from the dean and/or department head detailing the nominee’s efforts to enhance minority relations on campus.

The Auburn Alumni Association supports Auburn University in its efforts to recognize outstanding work by the faculty and staff by awarding almost $100,000 annually through faculty and staff awards and professorships.

The Auburn Alumni Association is a member-based, nonprofit organization funded by membership dues, individual donations and corporate sponsorships. The mission of the Auburn Alumni Association is to foster and strengthen the relationship between Auburn University and its alumni and friends; to preserve and promote the university’s traditions, purposes, growth and alumni; and to keep alive the spirit of affection and reverence for Auburn University.

For more information on award nominations, contact Kate Asbury Larkin at or (334) 844-1149. To see past recipients of the awards, criteria and additional information, or to download a nomination form, go to